

THE UNITED STATES TRADE REPRESENTATIVE EXECUTIVE OFFICE OF THE PRESIDENT WASHINGTON

May 25, 2023

The Honorable Elizabeth Warren United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Lloyd Doggett United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20510

Dear Senator Warren and Representative Doggett:

Thank you for your letter to Secretary Blinken and me regarding Investor-State Dispute Settlement (ISDS) provisions found in some international trade and investment agreements. I appreciate you sharing your views on these important issues.

President Biden does not believe corporations should receive special tribunals in trade agreements that are not available to other organizations, and he opposes the ability of private corporations to attack labor, health, and environmental policies through ISDS. I share these views, and the United States is not currently pursuing any trade or investment agreements that would establish ISDS.

Regarding the request for arbitration filed by Prospera against Honduras under the Dominican Republic-Central America Free Trade Agreement (CAFTA-DR), USTR is closely tracking these developments. As you may be aware, CAFTA-DR provides that a non-disputing party has the right to make written and oral submissions to an ISDS tribunal on issues of interpretation of the agreement. USTR would coordinate with the State Department and other agencies should any such submissions be made.

Going forward, the Biden Administration will continue to advance worker-centered trade policies that deliver sustainable and inclusive economic growth and benefit workers, consumers, and businesses of all sizes, including through initiatives such as the Indo-Pacific Economic Framework for Prosperity and the Americas Partnership for Economic Prosperity.

Thank you again for your letter, and please do not hesitate to contact me in the future about this or other matters of concern. I look forward to continuing to partner with you and other Members of Congress going forward.

Sincerely,

Ambassador Katherine Tai

The Honorable Brian Schatz

The Honorable Sherrod Brown

The Honorable Bernard Sanders

The Honorable Sheldon Whitehouse

The Honorable Susan Wild

The Honorable Rosa L. DeLauro

The Honorable Jamie Raskin

The Honorable Raul M. Grijalva

The Honorable Greg Casar

The Honorable Jesús G. "Chuy" García

The Honorable Jamaal Bowman, Ed.D.

The Honorable Paul D. Tonko

The Honorable Jan Schakowsky

The Honorable Pramila Jayapal

The Honorable Mark Pocan

The Honorable Brad Sherman

The Honorable Veronica Escobar

The Honorable Nydia M. Velázquez

The Honorable Eleanor Holmes Norton

The Honorable James P. McGovern

The Honorable Rashida Talib

The Honorable Cori Bush

The Honorable Jared Huffman

The Honorable Summer Lee

The Honorable Donald Norcross

The Honorable Ilhan Omar

The Honorable Barbara Lee

The Honorable Jill Tokuda

The Honorable Ro Khanna

The Honorable Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr.

The Honorable Mary Kaptur