441 G St. N.W. Washington, DC 20548

June 5, 2024

Congressional Requesters:

Thank you for your letter requesting that the Government Accountability Office review matters related to the Department of Defense's efforts to identify, prevent, and treat traumatic brain injuries (TBI) related to service members' exposure to blast overpressure.

GAO accepts your request as work that is within the scope of its authority. At the current time we anticipate that staff with the required skills will be available to initiate an engagement in about four months. Your request has been assigned to Ms. Jessica A. Farb, Managing Director, Health Care. Closer to the time GAO can start this engagement, Ms. Farb or a member of her team will contact the staff points of contact to confirm that this request continues to be your priority for us. As applicable, we will also be in contact with the cognizant Inspector General's office to ensure that we are not duplicating efforts. If an issue arises during this coordination, we will consult with you regarding its resolution.

If you have any questions, please contact Ms. Farb at 202-512-6991 or <a href="mailto:farbj@gao.gov">farbj@gao.gov</a>, or Ms. Kara S. Marshall, Assistant Director, Congressional Relations, on my staff at 202-512-3457 or <a href="mailto:marshallk@gao.gov">marshallk@gao.gov</a>.

Sincerely yours,

A. Nicole Clowers Managing Director Congressional Relations

Attachment

Ref: CCAR 24-0725

## Attachment: List of Requesters

The Honorable Elizabeth Warren Chair, Subcommittee on Personnel Committee on Armed Services United States Senate (POC: Karissa Wilkinson and Mandy Smithberger)

The Honorable Rick Scott
Ranking Minority Member, Subcommittee on Personnel
Committee on Armed Services
United States Senate

The Honorable Benjamin L. Cardin United States Senate

The Honorable Susan M. Collins United States Senate

The Honorable Joni K. Ernst United States Senate

The Honorable Kirsten Gillibrand United States Senate

The Honorable Martin Heinrich United States Senate

The Honorable Mazie K. Hirono United States Senate

The Honorable Tim Kaine United States Senate

The Honorable Angus S. King, Jr. United States Senate

The Honorable Markwayne Mullin United States Senate

The Honorable Dan Sullivan United States Senate

The Honorable Thom Tillis United States Senate

The Honorable Sanford D. Bishop, Jr. House of Representatives

The Honorable Robert Garcia House of Representatives

The Honorable Jared Golden House of Representatives

The Honorable Chrissy Houlahan House of Representatives

The Honorable Ro Khanna House of Representatives

The Honorable Susie Lee House of Representatives

The Honorable Joseph D. Morelle House of Representatives

The Honorable Seth Moulton House of Representatives

The Honorable Jimmy Panetta House of Representatives

The Honorable Elise M. Stefanik House of Representatives