

1404 N Broadway, St. Louis, MO 63102 (314) 725-6005 | (314) 227-1981 | vfp@veteransforpeace.org

## **VETERANS FOR PEACE**

July 31, 2019

The Honorable Denny Heck House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Representative Heck:

Veterans For Peace is proud to offer our endorsement of the Remove the Stain Act. We join Congressman Heck, Congressman Cook, Congresswoman Haaland, and Indigenous communities in denouncing the violence that occurred at the Wounded Knee Massacre.

Veterans For Peace is an international organization made up of military veterans, military family members, and allies. We accept veteran members from all branches of service. We are dedicated to building a culture of peace, exposing the true costs of war, and healing the wounds of war. Our networks are made up of over 140 chapters across the United States and abroad.

According to contemporaneous accounts following the actions at Wounded Knee Creek in 1890, a massacre took place. Estimates are that 350-375 men, women and children were killed. Congress should recognize this massacre for what it was, a mistake, and not glorify it with the 20 Medals of Honor that were subsequently awarded.

We strongly condemn the violence used against the Sioux people, and believe these medals from Wounded Knee tarnish the Medal of Honor. Congress should act to remove the stain. We therefore strongly support H.R. 3467, the Remove the Stain Act.

We, as military veterans, affirm our greater responsibility to serve the cause of world peace. We believe the Remove the Stain Act is consistent with our philosophy and approach to help build a more just and peaceful world.

Sincerely,

Garett Reppenhagen Executive Director

NATIONAL BOARD OF DIRECTORS Gerry Condon President Adrienne Kinne Vice-President Patrick McCann Secretary Gary Butterfield Treasurer Daniel Craig Mike Dempsey Marti GuyDowning Willie Hager George Johnson Joey King David Logsdon Jessie Medvan

ADVISORY BOARD Edward Asner Andrew Bacevich Medea Benjamin Phyllis Bennis Roy Bourgeois Jackson Browne Paul Chappell Charlie Clements Marjorie Cohn John Dear Phil Donahue Daniel Ellsberg **Bill Fletcher** Chris Hedges Matthew Hoh Ann Jones Kathy Kelly David Krieger Paul Norton "Pete" McCloskey Jr. Raymond McGovern Ralph Nader Yoko Ono Miko Peled Jeremy Scahill Rov Scranton Margaret Stevens Oliver Stone David Swanson Cornel West Mary Ann Wright

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR Garett Reppenhagen