441 G St. N.W. Washington, DC 20548

May 11, 2023

Congressional Requesters:

Thank you for your letter requesting that the Government Accountability Office review matters relating to the Department of Defense's, military services', and the Department of Education's efforts to ensure the integrity of each service's Junior Reserve Officers' Training Corps (JROTC) programs and protect JROTC cadets from exploitative practices and predatory instructors engaged in sexual abuse, harassment, and other misconduct.

GAO accepts your request as work that is within the scope of its authority. At the current time we anticipate that staff with the required skills will be available to initiate an engagement in about eight months. Your request has been assigned to Ms. Cathleen A. Berrick, Managing Director, Defense Capabilities and Management. Closer to the time GAO can start the engagement, Ms. Berrick or a member of her team will contact the staff point of contact to confirm that this request continues to be your priority for us. As applicable, we will also be in contact with the cognizant Inspector General's office to ensure that we are not duplicating efforts. If an issue arises during this coordination, we will consult with you regarding its resolution.

If you have any questions, please contact Ms. Berrick at

Ms. Melissa A. Wolf, Assistant Director, Congressional Relations on my staff at

Sincerely yours,

A. Nicole Clowers

Managing Director

Congressional Relation

Congressional Relations

cc: The Honorable James Comer

Chairman, Committee on Oversight and Accountability

The Honorable Glenn Grothman Chairman, Subcommittee on National Security, the Border, and Foreign Affairs

Attachment

Ref: CCAR 23-0716

Attachment: List of Requesters

The Honorable Elizabeth Warren Chair, Subcommittee on Personnel Committee on Armed Services United States Senate

The Honorable Jamie Raskin Ranking Member, Committee on Oversight and Accountability House of Representatives

The Honorable Robert Garcia
Ranking Member, Subcommittee on National Security, the Border, and Foreign Affairs
Committee on Oversight and Accountability House of Representatives

The Honorable Mazie Hirono United States Senate

The Honorable Sylvia Garcia House of Representatives (POC: Michael Tucker)

The Honorable Chrissy M. Houlahan House of Representatives

The Honorable Stephen F. Lynch House of Representatives